Sarah Rothenberg, pianist

Pianist Sarah Rothenberg's latest original performance work. Baudelaire's masterpiece, Flowers of Evil, was banned upon publication. Chopin's daring musical talent flourished in the poet's city of inspiration, Paris in the 1840's. The bold modern spirit of two Romantic geniuses is revealed in this visionary twenty-first century production. The piano recital reinvented: a unique dialogue between poetry and music through lighting, video and live performance. Rothenberg's original productions have been called "ingenious," (Washington Post) "intelligent and illuminating" (Seattle Post-Intelligencer) and "exceptionally thoughtful" (New York Times).

"an excellent pianist with an interesting mind" - The New York Times

Production details:
Sarah Rothenberg, piano

Conceived and Directed by Sarah Rothenberg
Texts: Charles Baudelaire
Music: Frederic Chopin
Lighting: Jennifer Tipton
Video: Christopher Kondek

All Chopin Program:

Prelude in E Minor. Op. 28, No. 4
Scherzo No. 1 in B Minor, Op. 20
Prelude in A Minor, Op. 28, No. 2
Prelude in G Major, Op. 28, No. 3
Nocturne in C Sharp Minor, Op. 27, No. 1
Nocturne in D Flat Major, Op. 27, No. 2
Berceuse, Op. 57
Ballade No. 4 in F Minor, Op. 52
For information on Da Camera productions, contact Artistic Administrator Becky Brown,
(713) 524-7601 extension 21.